“You’ve got to live your life”

The title of this blog says it all “random bits and pieces.” I tried, last year at least, to turn this blog into more of a music review type of blog and that was fun for a while but there are moments between live events that I should be blogging about so I’ve decided not to restrict myself too much and live up to the blog tagline!

 

The last few months have been trying to say the least. To say that Christmas lacked the cheer would be an understatement and we didn’t exactly ring in the New Year with hope and excitement like years before. 2017 didn’t start off well but I’m hoping that will change in the next couple of weeks.

 

I’m moving to Wuhan, China to teach English up until January 2018. It hasn’t been easy getting to this point and there have been a few roadblocks with paperwork but it’s finally here. I wanted out of Kenya and it will come in the form of a one-way ticket to Wuhan to teach kids the Queen’s English. I’m not sure if I’m excited or sceptical. The last few days I’ve been incredibly nervous about making this move – the effect it will have on my career and long-term goals is up in the air. Last night my mum said something that I believe I will carry with me for the rest of my life, it was something along these lines “you’ve got to live your life. You can listen to people’s advise but at the end of the day, it’s you who makes the decision and you’ll live with the consequences of those choices.”

 

So as I spend my final weekend in Nairobi city before the big move to China, those words will be my guide in this new chapter. I’ve just got to make the most of it – learn Mandarin, make a difference in people’s lives, see the world, experience a different culture and most important grow into a better human being.

 

I would say cheers to new adventures but I’m prepping for a 15k run tomorrow morning so water will have to do! Have a drink for me. 🙂

6953-Helen-Keller-Quote-Life-is-either-a-daring-adventure-or-nothing-at.jpg

Leave a Reply

